Daily Archives: March 1, 2010

Carol: Rick Walton

I was talking to Rick on the phone tonight when I remembered I had to write another blog. (Believe me, the week goes by pretty darn fast when you have to write something for ‘print’ each Monday.) Anyway, I asked him what I should write about and he said, “Me!”

I hmmmed and hawed about that on the phone, but the truth is, Rick Walton is the perfect writer to write about. And so I’ll do it.

About 17 years ago, Rick got my name from author Louise Plummer. She knew I had published a book (she was my teacher in an independent study class) and Rick was looking for local writers who might want to be a part of the writing group Louise had started. He called me. I was on bedrest with my fourth daughter (premature labor).  I was bored (sort of–I did have three other daughters at home), shy (so shy I could hardly meet people), and after to talking to Rick for a month or so, wanting to connect with other writers. Rick and I became friends quickly. We have been close friends since. I have been mistaken for his wife several times.

In all my years of knowing Rick Walton, I have seen his work ethic and the way he treats others. He has always worked hard. In critique group, when we were all critiquing other people’s stories, Rick was writing his own picture books. When Rick is in church, he’s writing his own picture books. When Rick is giving speeches at conferences, well, you already know . . . he’s writing his own picture books. He wakes up with ideas, comes up with ideas when talking to you (yes, I’ve inspired ideas while we were talking) and can find ideas for books tucked away in the oddest places.

Rick has sold every kind of book that is almost impossible to sell–counting books, alphabet books, and rhyming books. He has also sold rhyming alphabet/counting books. He is Utah’s own American Girl, having sold many books to Pleasant Company. He has worked closely with local publishers helping them start children’s book lines. Rick is a master of the book writing trade.

But that’s not all. Rick is also kind and good.

He’s had plenty of reasons to get angry with me, but never really has–at least never to my face. His heart is huge. It is Rick Walton who has served this state of writers and illustrators for many, many years, helping people get their start in the business of books for children. Back in the olden days, there were few conferences. Rick, Cheri and I put on one of the first in Utah Valley. Rick was the boss and he checked up on us again and again to make sure that things were going well. At that conference I met Will Terry, and my editor Mary Cash, both for the first time. And that day, Rick directed what would be the first of many, many Utah conferences.

Rick’s love for the people who write and illustrate books for children is all-encompassing. He opens his arms to anyone who asks him to help them. I have never known him to turn away anyone. Well, except for the boy in England who was  sending Rick death threats because Rick writes about pigs, frogs and bunnies. All in rhyme. The British boy’s father put a stop to the threats, I assure you.

If Rick hadn’t been a children’s book writer he could have been an ice dancer or a travel agent or a model. However, I would have voted for Rick to be president of the United States. There would be a picture book in every home, if Rick were president. And he would make sure that the sick are cared for. He also would make sure a writer’s commune was built for us here in the area (I call the biggest bedroom–the one with its own bathroom, lots of windows, some chickens, a couple of goats and a farmhand). Rick has an idea about how to fix just about everything. And when I say this, I’m serious.

So I couldn’t write this blog without asking people (at the last minute, of course) to say something about Rick.

Award winning middle grade author Ann Dee Ellis says: Rick has always been so generous with everything: visiting my class, helping students who are struggling, reading and critiquing manuscripts that many wouldn’t touch, etc. I am in awe of how he does everything he does. I mean the guy writes for American Girl. The Utah Childrens Writing Community would be at a great loss if Rick wasn’t around. Not to mention we love his books over here. I sing THE BEAR CAME OVER TO MY HOUSE to my kids every night.

Illustrator Will Terry said:
Rick is the kind of friend you think friends should be like and then you wonder if you can be the same for him.

Illustrator Julie Olson said: I met Rick 10 years ago at a children’s literature conference. A mutual friend introduced us, and he has been providing me with a wealth of knowledge about the industry of children’s books and publishing ever since. He is the most generous person I know with his time and talents. He has probably had a hand in helping every published children’s author or illustrator in Utah and beyond. Illustrating a book of his was one of the most fun projects I’ve had…he packs a lot of visual things in those few words.  And once you’ve met him, you’ll always be able to recognize him…even years later. Why? Because he has the same philosophy on hair that Donald Trump has…why mess with a good thing? Love ya, Rick. And thanks for all you do!

Student and YA writer Tiffany Demings said:

Rick is my teacher for children’s publishing industry. I have to say the biggest thing I appreciate about him is that he actually cares that I learn something. I’m sure most teachers do, but he understands that I have my own goals and he wants to help me reach them by giving me opportunities to meet people and to learn from the stories of others. He is very willing to work with me when it comes to class requirements, as well as with helping find other opportunities such as internships.

I’d like to get to know him better. That’s one of my goals as a student . . . He rocks.

Award winning author A.E. Cannon said:

Just recently I sold a picture book to Viking that I wrote in Rick’s class at BYU a few years ago.  When I told him the news, he said, “Yes!  Another grandbook!”  And he was as happy for my good fortune as he would have been for his own.  This is one of the best things about Rick—his complete and utter generosity to all writers.

Award Winning Picture Book author Kristyn Crow said:
Ten years ago I had to sneak into Rick’s workshop because I was told it was full.  I’d heard about him many times, but didn’t know what to expect.  He was easy going, funny and smart, with a Beatles haircut.  In my book, that made him cool as can be.   And I was this awkward, nervous new writer with a bizarre rhyming picture book manuscript.  But he believed in me.  He arranged an appointment for me to meet with the visiting agent at the conference.  When she laughed at my story (it wasn’t a good laugh) he reassured me.  He gave me the name and address of another agent, encouraging me to try again.  I did, and three months later she signed me on as a client.  Since then, Rick has critiqued manuscripts for me, answered a ga-zillion questions about the writing world, and helped me navigate through the confusing world of marketing and school visits.   We’ve shared the frustrations of life–both having kids with juvenile diabetes–and have worked on many projects together.   I am a published author today because of Rick’s support and mentoring.  Everything Rick does has to do with helping other people.  Having a professional career in writing was my dream from the age of five.  How do you thank someone for helping you achieve your life’s dream?  I owe everything–and then some–to Rick.

Writing Student Lynne Snyder said:
Rick will stop and spend time with someone who wants to write or has a story idea. He shares all his knowledge.

My neighbor had an idea for a PB. Her husband knows Rick from the past, I don’t remember the connection. Anyway, she asked Rick about her story. He took the time with her, encouraging her and helping her and then told her to call him anytime.

And finally

YA Writer Cheri Pray Earl ends us with the ultimate countdown:
Top Things Everybody Loves About Rick
10. His coat
9. That wiggly smile he gets when he thinks he knows something you don’t.
8. His hilarious puns and even the not-so-hilarious ones.
7. The fact that he knows everybody and everything. Ask him a question, any question.
6. His socks . . . no, wait.
5. That he wants to save/help/cure Every. Single. One. Of. Us. Plus all the other suffering people in the world.
4. That he is patient with people who tease him, like Carol. And Cheri. And he still walks with them and goes to lunch with them. Anyway.
3. That he has saved/helped/cured every single one of us someday, somehow, somewhere (and he knows every show tune ever written—but he’s still a man I know what you’re thinking).
2. He’s The Man of a Thousand Ideas and he gives them away for free.
1. That he smiles through IT ALL and makes us feel like our lives suck worse than his even though . . . well, you know.

Happy March 1, Rick.

I hope those of you who love Rick will say so here. He will go down in Utah history as one of the most kind, most generous writers, ever.
We love you, Tricky Ricky!

*Marathon Rules tomorrow? We’re so rude.

22 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized