Ten Tips to Help Keep Publishing in Perspective

Off and on for the rest of the year, when you least expect it, Rick Walton and I are going to brainstorm tips about writing. Today’s? Ten Tips to Help Keep Publishing in Perspective.

We meet people all the time who think life is all about having a novel out, or a picture book. “If I could get my name on a book, life would be great,” they think. Is this true? Hmmm. Good question. If you think so, check out our tips and see if we can change your mind about publishing after you read what we’ve come up with.

1. Is your mother published? Would you love her any more if she weren’t? Any less if she were? Oh, wait. Rick expected that to be the other way around. But you know what he means. (Rick)
2. The market is fickle. You never know what’s going to sell. When my first book was published a googillion years ago, you couldn’t sell a YA novel to save your life. Now, it’s difficult to sell a picture book. The market is always changing. And while change isn’t always comforting, it is a good thing in the marketplace. (Carol)
3. All good books WILL find a home. This may take a long time but as my agent, Steve Fraser, has always tried to do for me, you want to find THE best editor for your book. And remember– good books do find homes. (Carol)
4. I could go outside, close my eyes, spin around, throw a rock and hit an artist. But try to find a good plumber. Artists are a dime a dozen. The journey of writing is sometimes more important than publication. (Rick)
5. Which would you rather have, your name on a book or indoor plumbing? I’ve got 80 books with my name on them. I know how much they validate my life. Not at all. What they do is show that I have done something with my life. If I had contributed to society in another way, it would have been just as valid. (Rick)
6. A novel will not make you a terrific person, a loved person, a famous person, or rich. I know someone who makes lots of money writing, but that individual isn’t the nicest person to be around. And I know lots of people who haven’t sold anything who are amazing. When you write, write for the right reasons. People think publishing is the end all, be all. The truth is, it doesn’t always change your life in the ways you hope.(Carol)
7. You should find a career that makes you happy and that makes the world a better place. If writing does that for you, great. If teaching, practicing medicine, parenting or flipping burgers does that for you, good. That’s what you should do. (Rick)
8. I think writing is a two-edged sword. There’re hard parts to it–publishing can fill you with anxiety  and be a tough place to spend a lot of time in. Rick says if it’s not hard at times, you’re not doing it right. I used to think that publishing a novel would solve my problems but I think maybe it made more problems for me. (Carol)
9. If your motivations are primarily external, you shouldn’t be doing trying to publish. If you are writing for the money or fame, you’ll probably be disappointed. If your drive is internal, if you’re writing because you feel you HAVE to write, and it makes you happy, and you feel a satisfaction by making the world a better place, then writing is a good choice. Also, internal motivation is more likely to keep you going long enough to actually get published. (Rick)
10. You can’t take it with you. The best part of my life hasn’t been my publications.  The best part of my life is my relationships with others, especially with my children. These relationships have been most worthwhile and are a darn good reason to live. The books have been a nice bonus, but I would never trade the two. (Carol)

So there you have it–our ideas on keeping the publishing market in perspective. Not sure when we’ll do this again, on a different topic, but we will.

Yes, that’s a warning. (Carol)

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Ten Tips to Help Keep Publishing in Perspective

  1. Oh good. I can give up now. :)

  2. I’ve never wanted to be famous. Rich? Nah, it changes people. They build 20,000 square foot houses like Tom Brady, and don’t even fill it with orphans. Lame.

    I’ve never wanted to publish anything I wrote. Until I went to BYUWIFYR. And my A.E. Cannon told me publishing was not selfish. And the world can never have enough good books. And if you have the talent, you should magnify and share it. Isn’t she nice AND beautiful? The woman has Tina Turner legs. Jealousy.

    Then I learned there was an actual system to writing a novel. (Lisa Hale.) (And may I say that woman is some kind of intelligent?) (yes, is your answer.)

    So I don’t know. I feel pretty comfortable. Maybe because I already know that accomplishments don’t make you feel better about yourself. I don’t tie writing to my personal value. Of course I’m emotionally attached to it. And it’s freaky sharing deep parts of myself with others.

    It would all be a bonus, like Carol said.

    • I can’t say that accomplishments don’t make me feel better about myself. They do make me feel better. I think it has to do with the same kind of idea that we are all trying to get at though. Whatever we do that is good, is good. And I don’t want to choose between indoor plumbing and being published, but I don’t have to because I don’t have to learn how to do my own plumbing. My accomplishments make me feel good because I realize that I do have my own talents that I can use in some way. I suppose though, the difference is in what we refer to as accomplishments. I feel accomplished every time I write a new poem or finish another journal or run a half marathon…I love doing that stuff, and it makes me feel better about myself and my personal abilities which are different from other people’s. great post. the end.

  3. Rick Walton

    What it boils down to for me is that artists are special, but no more special than anyone else who makes the world a better place. And that being published doesn’t validate you. You’re already valid. And that whatever you choose to do with your life it should be something that you love, and that gives you the chance to help others.

    Pedestals are artificial and wobbly. Artists are better off standing on solid ground.

  4. Pingback: Early to rise. Must I? « Typing with My Toes

  5. Pingback: Sleep Sacrifices & the Stuff I Won’t Give Up « Typing with My Toes

ThrowingUpComments

