So Ann Dee, Kyra and I

are excited about announcing the winners of our very own Project Writeway.
(Let me put on my plunging neckline dress, my 6-inch heels, a lot of eye make up and say)

This year’s winners receives the biggest prize ever in Ann Dee, Kyra and Carol’s time of doing Project Writeway.

He or she shall receive:
A first chapter CRITIQUE by the amazingly kind and terrific agent STEVE FRASER.

And here is our PROJECT WRITEWAY WINNER!!!!!

Docena Holm

I made a choice.
53 days. I didn’t speak when my parents announced the plan to keep our family together.
36 days. I kept my mouth shut on the day we arrived at the cabin, our ark in a wicked world.
2 days. When Dallin came for me, I left my family, without speaking a word.
0 days. I did not believe the world would end. Mom and Dad ended my world when they took us away.
——-
Light streaks near the moon. My parents were wrong. It will pass us by.
My parents were right.
“This is the end.”

And our Play at Home Winner is Leisha Maw!

Getting abducted by dark elves is a problem. My problem. They took me when I discovered my mom’s illness was really mental slavery. Now I’m stuck in their realm where being human is illegal. Having powers that melt others’ insides is illegal, too.

Accidentally marrying their prince? Um, yeah.
Guilty. So guilty.
Now I just have to master powers I didn’t know I had, decimate a regime that makes Hitler look like a pansy, and restore my mother’s mind—all while trying not to fall for my husband.
It’s a good thing I’m human; they’ll never see me coming.

CONGRATS GIRLS!!!!!!
You played long and hard and it paid off.

Here are the newest set of rules, Winners. Yes, there are more–

Please send your first few pages here– throwingupwords@gmail.com.
I will be able to make sure that your beginnings get to Steve without sitting in the slush forever.

Your work must be submitted properly
, meaning– 12 point font, double spaced, 1 inch margins. Make sure you have a cover letter and throw in a SHORT synopsis.
On your cover letter, make sure you include your name, your contact information–including email address–and the title of the novel. Also, make sure you put if this is a YA, MG or PB AND put word count.

NOTE: No more than 2,000 words. If your first chapter ends before the 2,000 words (mine always do), stop there!
If you think, “It gets interesting in chapter three.” Well, that’s not the book to send.
Make sure you are sending Steve your very best work.
PLEASE make sure you send your work to us by Sunday, April 15, 2012 at 7 pm.

And yahoo!
We’re done with this season of Project Writeway and I am taking off this sequined gown and my pantyhose now.

PS Tomorrow, Ann Dee explains the way the judging worked.

25 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

25 responses to “So Ann Dee, Kyra and I

  1. Whoah! Congrats Docena! I’m so proud to be your younger brother!

  2. Amy

    Way to go!!!!!!!!! Now I can say I knew you when ;)
    Best of luck in the critiques – not that you need it!

  3. Kim Woodruff

    Congratulations to the winners!

  4. CLW

    Isn’t Docena’s entry grand?
    Not only is she VERY nice, but she is a fine writer. I looked through her old stuff after she was chosen and saw that she has consistently written excellent entries for the contests!

  5. Way to go, Docena! I’ve been rooting for you. And congrats to Leisha Maw, too.

    And whoever did essays that mentioned WIFYR, please contact me if I can re-post your essays on the WIFYR blog.

  6. Wow! Wow! Wow! This has been a great experience. Thanks, Carol and Rebecca for the comments. And thank you, Ann Dee, Carol, and Kyra and all the guest judges for a contest that stretched my abilities and helped me grow as a writer.

  7. Congratulations, Docena and Leisha! I loved your entries!! (Carol, any chance we get to see all of them???) And thanks to you, judges and fine Throwing Up Words officionado/as! This was so much fun and I’m going through withdrawals already! Thanks for all your hard work!

  8. Elizabeth Dimit

    Congrats to Leisha and Docena! We had so much fun doing the contest. Thanks to all of you for your hard work!!!

  9. Yay, Docena! Great contest and a well-deserved victory!

  10. Hey!!!! Congrats to Docena!!!! What a fun contest. Well played! :)

    A special thanks to the Throwing Up Words crew for all their hard work and love that went into this. Thanks! Thanks! and Thanks again!

    And thanks Elizabeth, Jonene, and Rebecca. :) I’m a grinning girl.

  11. Hey!!!! Congrats to Docena!!!! What a fun contest. Well played!

    A special thanks to the Throwing Up Words crew for all their hard work and love that went into this. Thanks! Thanks! and Thanks again!

    And thanks Elizabeth, Jonene, and Rebecca. I’m a grinning girl.

  12. Writer X

    Congratulations, Docena and Leisha! This was a fun contest to read and vote on. (I didn’t manage to vote every week, but I did most.)

    I have a question. An April 2 post stated, ” … we will announce the two winners who will have the first few pages of their novels reviewed by Steve Fraser.” Does this refer to the top two PW entries as well as the top one P@H entry, or just the top PW and top P@H? Thanks.

  13. Pingback: Life After Project Writeway | docenaholm.com

ThrowingUpComments

