Three Things Thursday Even Though it’s Really Friday Because I Forgot Yesterday was Thursday Plus Guess What? Happy Friday the 13th! PLUS PLUS Kyra’s Post!!!

What do you think of a three-day writing gig, all of us, together? It’s been a while since we had a marathon.
Got time?
Wednesday, Thursday, Friday of next week. How does that sound? Just two or three hours each day (you would decide–that would be part of your goal)–at some point–either straight-through-writing OR bits-and-pieces to get your time.

What do you think of meeting after the marathon? Ann Dee and I found a nice restaurant we could go to for lunch. We can bring a couple of books for prizes for people who complete their goals.

What do you think of this new schedule for our blog?
Monday= Carol
Tuesday= Ann Dee
Wednesday= Kyra
Thursday= Three Things Thursday
Friday= The beginning of our three day weekend!

PS I haven’t talked to Ann Dee or Kyra about this yet. Girls, are you okay with this?

A Good Man is Hard to Find.

I haven’t had anything to read at my new job {nannying three crazy children with huge amounts of energy}
It’s been pretty dull when the TV is on. My internet doesn’t even work here! {there goes all my data} But I do like the job because the kids are all cute and my living space is super cute.

Yesterday I found a collection of short stories by Flannery O Conner. One of which was A Good Man is Hard to Find.
Has anyone read it?
When I was about seven-years-old, Mom read A Good Man is Hard to Find to me and my sisters.
After the story was over I felt a lot like the time Mom made a deal with me that I could skip church if I stayed home and watched Of Mice and Men with her.
And if you don’t know that storyline, then you don’t know how I felt when I heard A Good Man is Hard to Find.
But if you do know how I felt after I was tricked into watching a movie that wasn’t about little mice, as Mom told me it was, then you also know how I felt after I heard such a devastatingly sad but hilarious short story.
I still remember asking “they shot the baby?” and Mom just looking at me with a very sad but also slightly smirky face.
All of that being said ….
AGMIHtF is great. Actually most of O’Connor’s stories are great. Total classics. Well written, great description without too many words. Well-developed characters.
I really wish I knew how she did it. If I had that gift I bet my rewrites would be a lot easier!

Another book I found {thank goodness} is On Writing by The King. {Elvis wrote a whole novel about writing a novel}
This one is really great to read when you are learning how to write. Like me.
Not only does it have great advice, but it also had a lot of great stories in it. Some actually made me cringe a little bit.

But I’m glad to have some books to read. I am thinking of going to the library with the kids. But I’m also thinking maybe I shouldn’t.

Oh well. I think that is enough rambling.
Happy Friday the 13th! I think I’m going to go watch some gory movies tonight to celebrate the lucky13.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Three Things Thursday Even Though it’s Really Friday Because I Forgot Yesterday was Thursday Plus Guess What? Happy Friday the 13th! PLUS PLUS Kyra’s Post!!!

  1. Rebecca Birkin

    My hubbie will be out of town, and I’ve got some pages that seriously need reworking. I’m in!

  2. Blogged about WIFYR: http://www.tarynalbright.com/2012/04/writing-and-illustrating-for-young.html :)

    Also, I’m totally up for that (down for that? It’s funny those two opposites mean the same thing in that phrase.), since I just started a new WIP!

  3. i will try. i’m in the midst of editing a thesis and don’t know how much energy i will have left when it is over.

  4. I’m in for the writing marathon also. Sadly, I will not be able to join you for celebrations after, as I live in a different state, but I’ll definitely celebrate with some sushi or something.

    Also, you all deserve a three day weekend from the blog. It looks like a great new schedule.

ThrowingUpComments

