WRITING MARATHON NEXT WEEK!

I love the beginning of a month.
Especially if it starts on a Sunday.

And if the New Year starts on a Sunday, I love that even better.
It means I can make more goals or something.
Goals that I lose.
And never finish. But work on when I remember I made them. And feel happy about them, too.
I’m the kinda goal maker that loves to have made goals and feels good about writing them all down even when I don’t mark them off as done.

This next week goal is all for me.

(Okay–so I wrote this whole thing about a marathon and then I realized that well, it’s the Fourth of July week so maybe that means you will not want a writing marathon.
Or maybe this is a perfect week for people who WOULD want to write.
I’ve gone back and forth and finally asked Ann Dee and she says wait.
So here are the rules for NEXT WEEK’S WRITING MARATHON.)

This is a marathon that starts in three different places–kind of a staggered writing marathon.

You can participate in:
The Longest Marathon We Have Done on the Blog

Here’s how it goes: You start next Monday–July 9. You end on Friday 13 at midnight.
Set your goals. Share them.
Write daily.
Keep track of what you do so you can tell us all about it here.

Or
You can participate in:
The Second Longest Marathon We Have Done on the Blog

Here’s how that one goes: You start on Wednesday 11 and go to Saturday 14.
Set your goals. Share them.
Write.
Keep track of what you do so you can tell us all about it here.

Or
You can participate in:
A Normal-Sized Throwing Up Words Writing Marathon
This is any three days you choose (usually we go Th, Fri, Sat).
Set your goals. Share them.
Write.
Keep track of what you do so you can tell us all about it here.

My goal:
Well, I still have that NaNoWriMo book to finish.
I’d be happy if I can get 2,000 words done each day.
Final goal (gulp) 10,000 words. PLUS I want to do one read-thru, making corrections as I go.
I’ll keep you updated!

PLUS: This marathon week we will have comments from amazing writers who went to Writing and Illustrating for Young Readers.
And we’d like comments from YOU on how the writing is going.

18 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

18 responses to “WRITING MARATHON NEXT WEEK!

  1. rbs

    First of all, I LOVED WIFYR! Mette challenged me to FINISH A BOOK, gosh darn it. And that’s my goal. It’s also my NaNoWriMo novel and the one I took to WIFYR. I have written nearly 22,000 words – meaning I have 23,000 to go if the book ends at the 50,000 word mark.

    I’m off work for 10 days and my goal is to write 500-1000 words a day during that time which means I would finish between 5000 and 10,000 words by the time I have to return to work.

    I’m starting today – right now, as a matter of fact.

    Ready, Set, Goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!

  2. Kyra Nelson

    My goal is going to be 750 words a day. So 3,750 total from Monday-Friday. Thanks for the writing inspiration!

  3. Ooh. Next week is perfect for a writing marathon for me. I will now ponder my goals…

  4. Elizabeth Dimit

    Mine is to do a read-through and 750 words per day (M-F). Bring it on!!

  5. I’m in. I’d like to have a first draft completed of my latest book. But that may be crazy since I only have two chapters done. Better set a more realistic goal. A chapter a day. That’s it.

    • CLW

      Hahaha! You remind me of me when I make goals . . .I want to build a house from scratch AND write a novel AND lost 50 pounds. Yes. In two weeks.

  6. Okay, I am going to do this. I don’t have a novel, but I need to write. I’ve been talking about it for years. And it feels urgent now for some reason. I will write something, anything, every day next week. At least 500 words a day? I just need to do it. Emily will be proud.

  7. I just returned from vacation and need a goal for this week. So I’ll jump in here and set my goal as writing 2,000 words a day this week. I’m starting today and going to Friday.
    Thanks Carol.

  8. WIFYR ws an amazing experience. I’ve been challenged to finish my novel as soon as possible. This marathon will certainly help. Goal: 1,200 words per day for the full five-day ordeal! What AM I thinking???

  9. I’m going to write for the Monday through Friday LONGEST Marathon, at 1200 words per day. These will be NEW rough draft chapters for my StoonSaga YA fantasy which I worked on at WIFYR this year (and thanks, Carol, AND thanks, Mette for the FABULOUS week that was!) The BenschWensch

ThrowingUpComments

