Notes from WIFYR goers to help you with your marathoning

NICHOLE JARNIGAN

Nichole Jarnagin has previously published in Babybug magazine and has won several statewide awards in various categories. She resides in Draper, Utah with her husband and children.

My 2012 WIFYR holy nugget: You’re first page sets up an expectation for the reader.

My current WIP had a compelling first line and a supporting paragraph that provided a good hook. Unfortunately, it gave the reader the wrong impression. I’d laid the foundation for a gritty YA contemporary, but my book was supposed to be a paranormal romance.

You’re first page sets up an expectation for the reader, and as an author you’d better follow through. You make promises in those first lines, first pages, and they’re promises you must keep if you want readers to trust you.

I knew the scene in my first paragraph was peripheral to the storyline and distracting to the plot, and yet, I fooled myself into thinking I could get away with it because it was compelling. Thanks to WIFYR I’m a better writer and critiquer now that I can see this flaw not only in my own writing, but in others’ as well.

{The picture wouldn’t work for some reason. But just imagine a cute girl!}

2 Comments

Filed under July 2012 Marathon, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Notes from WIFYR goers to help you with your marathoning

  1. Cheryl

    Not only is she a great writer – but she can really bust a move !!!

  2. Picture a dancing queen! Also, that first impression lesson left an impression on me too. Excellent advice.

ThrowingUpComments

