We Need Help! And Stuff

Kyra here.

I missed my post again yesterday. I’m telling you, I can’t do Wednesdays. I hate that damn day.

Okay. I need some help.
If you were to have someone give you an all exclusive packet that told you whatever you wanted to know about writing, what would you have in the packet? What kind of questions would you like answered? What would you expect to be taught? Tell me everything.
NO, I can’t answer these questions. I’m wondering them myself. . . but I’ll tell you why I’m wondering in the near future.

But I would love to hear all your answers! The winner gets a high-five!

I really wish I knew how to post pictures. For some reason they never show up when I try. WordPress your new site sucks!

I saw the new Batman today. What did everyone think? It made me wish I wasn’t single. Being single is crappy. I think. I just don’t know how to be I guess.

Does anyone know of any good writing contests? Searching the web for them isn’t easy. Or maybe I’m not web savvy. It’s hard to say, really.

Everything I’ve written has started with I. It’s a real problem I have in my writing that I had to fix a million times during rewrites.

Is there any good hair salons around here? I need a serious change. A tattoo, haircut, or maybe just a job. haha

This post sucks.

But I hope to hear back from you guys!

PS. Thank you to everyone who commented on my post last week. It made me feel really loved. You guys are the best!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “We Need Help! And Stuff

  1. Gail Carson Levine has this book called “Writing Magic” that is written for kids (someone gave it to my daughter as a gift) but the writing advice is so basic, easy to understand, and totally applicable, it’s one of my favorite craft books. If I were to be given an exclusive writing packet, I’d want something like that.

    I totally do the “I” thing and have to revise that a ton.

  2. Emily

    I’d recommend Shep Studios in Provo if you’re looking for a cut. They’re very professional, super helpful, and really know their stuff. A stylist there talked me into cutting my hair reeeaaaallly short which I was nervous about but I’m so glad I did, he was totally right, it looks better that way :)

  3. Andrea

    Here’s one thing I’d like to know: How do you tell the difference between a manuscript that’s not working because you just need to work at it more and a manuscript that’s not working because you’re not yet ready to write it? Matt Kirby talked about how his agent looked at his first manuscript and told him to set it aside and write something completely different. He did, and now, two published books later, he has returned to that first story and finished it with much different (and far better) results.

    But how do you know whether your manuscript needs dogged perseverance or a big, long break? I love my characters, but no matter which direction I go with my story, I can’t seem to get it right. Maybe I’m not ready to tell this particular story yet? But I hate the idea of quitting it.

    Anyway, that’s probably not the kind of question that can be answered with a blanket response. But it’s just something I’ve been mulling over since WIFYR.

    Kyra, I’m sorry to hear about your heartbreak. We’re all wishing you the best!

ThrowingUpComments

