Starts and How I Wish Twitter Didn’t Exist and How Happy I am For Jennifer Aniston

I sent out the starts. I’m sorry if you were hoping for something meatier. I didn’t go too far into the stories so that you could just get a first impression and them make it your own. if you didn’t get a start and you want one, there are more where that came from. Just let me know.

Now for twitter. How many of you twit regularly? I mean tweet? I am THE WORST at it. Like I have an account but every time I attempt to write something on that thing, I end up freezing and making a typo or I write the same word twice or I think, who the heck cares about what I am saying right now and how does this work? I know that being a regular tweeter is important. In fact in many circles tweeting is the only thing that matters as far as social networking goes. That’s why I feel this pressure to at least tweet once in my life. 

Now I know as soon as I say that people are going to say, you don’t have to tweet. Do what you feel comfortable with and I agree. I totally get that. But I also wonder psychologically what my problem is. Like what is my problem? It’s 140 characters. Write something already. 

In one of the books I’ve been reading it talks about how microblogging (uh, tweeting) “could act as a powerful daily practice, and the restriction of the short length might build your ability to compress key events into singular, vivid images. A collection of your microblogs would be a fascinating form in itself, conveying an entire life in as few words as possible. The writing is quick, spontaneous [not for me, apparently], catching the world on the fly; it is both intimate and incredibly public . . . “

A powerful daily practice. Spontaneous and intimate and public. 

I think I should do something spontaneous and intimate and public. Like run around naked. Or tweet. 

Should we do a tweeting challenge? Like write a YA story a day in 140 characters? Or tweet a memory from our teen years and do it for thirty days? I don’t even get how it works. Do we tweet at each other? This is embarrassing. How do I tweet to celebrities? That’s the real question. 

Someone help me. Or tweet for me. 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Starts and How I Wish Twitter Didn’t Exist and How Happy I am For Jennifer Aniston

  1. Kyra

    i don’t know how to tweet. And I even have a fancy phone.

    I think we need to put group back together. Random, I know

  2. CLW

    “could act as a powerful daily practice, and the restriction of the short length might build your ability to compress key events into singular, vivid images. A collection of your microblogs would be a fascinating form in itself, conveying an entire life in as few words as possible. The writing is quick, spontaneous, catching the world on the fly; it is both intimate and incredibly public . . . “

    It looks to me that the description is way more than 140 characters. What does THAT mean? Plus I like the idea of doing your suggestions, but I don’t think I will do them as a twit (one who tweets?).

  3. I’m not that great at tweeting either. However, by following agents and editors on twitter, I now know who NOT to send my MS to. I’ve been turned off by a few agents and am glad I know a little about them before I send my book off.

    Too bad for them as I am the next J.K. Rowling slash John Green. Just saying.

    Also, how is it I get all my celebrity gossip from Ann Dee. That just doesn’t seem right.

ThrowingUpComments

