Three Things Thursday=Monday Continued

Cari L. Sadler: When I have writer’s block, I step away and write nonsense. I play until what I am working on becomes play again.

Christina Diaz Gonzalez: Sometimes it’s just best to plow through and write anything because you can always revise a poorly written page- you can’t revise a blank one.

Nikki Grimes: I read a few pages of work by three authors with whom I feel a particular kinship. I think it’s something about their literary voices that resonate with my own, for some reason. In any event, reading their work always leads me back into my own: J. California Cooper, Lucille Clifton, and Gary Soto.

Jennifer Reed: Either plow through or if that doesn’t work walk away- do something else for a day or two…

Kathleen Duey: I keep 2-3 projects in rotation, with one as the 90% focus. If nothing clicks, I go outside with a shovel and a limb saw.

Sera Rivers: I go into fanatic cleaning mode and play all my fave music. Then I walk through my childhood park. Its long field, wooded area and quiet frog pond helps me meditate. No phone, no electronics, just nature and me…sometimes I bring my journal to write my thoughts, But it’s the quiet after the loud cleaning session that reboots my mind. Works every time. :)

Neysa Jensen: I wrote a blog post at gemstatewriters.wordpress.com on this topic.

Kelley Paystrup: I believe in it. But my answer is keep writing but change genres. If I’m stuck writing an essay, I’ll switch to poetry or a short story for awhile. Works for me.

Simon Fill Hi Carol, In a craft sense, I believe writer’s block almost always results from not konwing the world of the the story, and the characters, enough. It can usually be solved by doing more research into that world and its characters, Also, if one is suddenly blocked in the middle of writing a piece, the problem often occurs somewhere earlier in the piece, worth looking earlier in the piece to check on that.

Sally Sandberg Morris: I think writer’s block comes because our story has taken a wrong turn. It’s because we can’t or aren’t listening to the voice of our story. I get back on track by rereading what I’ve already written or jumping ahead in my story to a part where writing comes easy. Or I just eat some chocolate. Okay, a lot of chocolate. Somehow, that gives my brain the power to keep going.

Rebecca M Sauvé: I try to jump ahead to a part that I know what i want to be done and then when I have the words flowing them come that much more esier for teh part that i done want to write.. or cant. I also found that if I went to another project it would help, sometimes it helps to take a step back for a little while.

Heather Brown Moore: I try to write a scene where I know what will happen. Or I do something else, like read, or take a walk or clean . . . I’ve also worked on a different manuscript just so that I’m staying productive while I’m in a stall with current one.

Irene Hastings Freewriting. Works every time for me.

Katherine Gee Perrone: I absolutely believe in Writer’s Block. It comes out of mental exhaustion, so usually, I try indulging in another hidden talent of mine. If that doesn’t work, I simply read one chapter out of “Writing Down the Bones”. Natalie Goldberg’s words and ideas jump start my creative engines every time. It may not work towards my current project, but it gets me writing again. I get Writer’s Block too when I feel trapped by all the choices I’ve made for the characters or the plot…so if I hit “refresh” and try to start over some angle (or delete something drastic), that helps a lot to free up the story.

Cheryl Whipple Van Eck: To quote Jack London: “You can’t wait for inspiration. You have to go after it with a club.” As for me, whenever I claim writer’s block, I later realize I was just being lazy. The story was in there, I just didn’t feel like putting in the work to dig it out.


So there we have it. More than 25 helps on what to do if you can’t go on. Hope you have fun writing this weekend!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

ThrowingUpComments

