Murder Mystery

With a murder mystery, you have to know the end first. You have to know who did it, why they did it, how they tried to cover it up, who they are scared will find out, and what their plans are for the future.

This is why I will never be a murder mystery writer. you have to plan. You have to be meticulous. You have to drop clues that aren’t obvious on first reading but totally obvious on second reading.

One time I wrote a murder mystery. It was an accident. A big fat accident and when I was done I thought to myself, no way in a million years would that have happened if it wasn’t an accident.

So what are your murder mystery tips? Do you write out an outline? Get a feel for the characters first? Start with the dead body and branch out from there? Do character sketches?

You have very few words to do a lot a lot of work.

In other news, I have started eating dates stuffed with pecans. I am scared I am approaching old age. Also, I am horrible at Zumba.

I think that is all.

4 Comments

Filed under Project Writeway

4 responses to “Murder Mystery

  1. I’ve never ever written a murder or a mystery. This is going to be interesting. Tonight I sat down with my brilliant-at-plotting daughter and brainstormed ideas. We’ll see how it goes.

    I love Zumba, but can’t eat pecans at all any more, even smothered in dates, so I really am old.

  2. CLW

    I am waaaay older than you and I have never eaten a pecan/date.
    Dates killed the monkey in that one movie.

    And I have seen you Zumba. You are great! You are a natural!

    • Monelle

      I can’t see, think of, or read about dates without saying to myself, “Bad dates.” Not that they come up all that much, but still.

  3. Dan

    Please don’t Zumba

ThrowingUpComments

