Three Thing Thursday

okay, so like Carol said yesterday, this has been an experiment. And we have made mistakes. Currently, the man who puts up the posts while I wrangle children is out of town. We were going to try to get up the entries even with him far far away and with my limited skills, but alas, the posts aren’t ready. They will be by the afternoon we hope. Suri. Suri.

The good news is these entries are scary and awesome and bloody and I can’t wait for everyone to get to read them. We will extend the voting deadline and promise that next week, the final week, we will (we hope) finally get everything right.

and now for the three things to think about while you wait for us boring people.

1.Did you see Hunger Games? I did. And I have been fascinated with the discussions it has generated. FASCINATED. Like this, and this, and this and this. What do you think of all the opinions, reviews, controversy? Did you like the movie? Were you disappointed? Were you satisfied? There’s so much to talk about.

2. Speaking of books to movies, the Hunger Games has sparked a discussion about Hollywood wanting more and more YA books. Here’s a list of books already slated to come out. What novel have you read recently that you would like to see in the theater? Do you like movie adaptations? Why or why not?

3. And on an entirely unrelated topic but totally related, have you signed up for WIFYR yet? You guys, it’s going to be awesome. WIFYR is how I found my agent. It’s how many many people found their agents and editors. It is a great deal for the price–if you do a quick search of other conferences (comparing length, set up, format, etc.) you’ll see that you are getting the most bang for you buck at WIFYR. I could say more but I somebody is pulling my pants down in an effort to get me to get them some milk. But please, sign up. It’s going to fun and hard and awesome and well worth it. There’s still spots in my BOOTCAMP class (and I’m going to put you to work right away, my friends, right away). So spread the word.

I think that’s all. the entries will be up. Don’t despair and thank you thank you for your patience.

6 Comments

Filed under Ann Dee, three thing thursday

6 responses to “Three Thing Thursday

  1. I saw the Hunger Games with my daughter’s sixth grade class. They rented out the theater. They read the Hunger Games as part of their curriculum and they re-enacted the games at school. They were part of districts, they had a reaping, they had mentors, stylists and tributes. The seventh graders were the game-makers who were easily bribed. The games involved minute to win it games and a few floods and firestorms were thrown in for good measure. The winning districts (for the first time in Hunger Games history, there were four winners) got extra credit.

    I’ve never seen so many kids excited about a book. Well played Suzanne Collins.

    Also, watching the movie with a bunch of sixth graders was priceless. They sobbed and giggled and cheered at ALL the right parts.

    I was not disappointed, however, I KNOW the difference between a movie and a book.

  2. The head reference librarian arranged for all us employees and friends to attend a pre-showing of The Hunger Games. Awesome. My husband and I arrived a little too late to get a good seat. Luckily, my friend felt bad for not saving us seats and she, her sister, and I all squished into two seats. Totally worth it.

    The movie was good in as far as it was faithful to the plot. However, I felt a little empty while watching it. I didn’t feel the intense emotion I remembered from the book. Katniss expresses her feelings so well in the book, but the actress cannot do it justice because she also has to conceal some of those emotions. Movies have other ways they can solve those problems. I don’t know all of them, but I do know that music is one of the most powerful tools.

    I blame my lack of emotion on the lack of music. The music that was present was okay, but did anybody else notice the frequent moments of silence? I understand that silence can be more powerful in an intense scene. However, there is usually a very good build-up and then the silence only lasts a few seconds. This movie needed an excellent musical score for every second it was on the screen. I can’t help feeling that it would have been so much better had Danny Elfman done the music like he had originally agreed.

  3. THE SCORPIO RACES would be a lovely, haunting movie.

    SAVVY would be a fun, feel-good movie.

    Both have sold film options at least once–but a lot of books do, and then never get off the ground. I’d sure love to see these, though!

  4. Juliette

    I see the main contestant’s entries, but where are the Play-At-Home contestant’s entries?

ThrowingUpComments

