Scenic

Yesterday we celebrated my baby’s one year birthday. Last week was my sister-in-law’s birthday, and my nephew and nieces’s birthdays. My niece also had her first baby girl after two boys. Today is Cameron and my eight year wedding anniversary. Mother’s day is in a week and some of our best friends in the world are moving to Wisconsin for school in three weeks. It feels like everything happens at once.

My five year old is tied to seven balloons and he said, Mom. I might float away. And I said, what will you do if you float away? And he said, I’ll just bite the strings. One at a time.

Novels are collections of scenes. Collections of moments in a person’s life that mean something. Sometimes they are big moments, like birthdays or anniversaries or births. Sometimes they are small moments, like walking alone on a mountain trail or changing the 100th diaper or wondering if you’ll float away.

Look at your WIP. Does each scene mean something? What do they do for the MC? Are they changing them?  As part of the revision process, I’ve been thinking it might be interesting to write down a list of the scenes in my book in a notebook. Write them down one column. Then on a column to the right, write what the scene is doing. What is the purpose?  How does the MC feel in the scene? Does it move the plot forward? Does it deepen relationships? Is it needed? Should it be longer? Shorter?

I think I’m going to try it. Anyone want to do it with me?

5 Comments

by | April 30, 2012 · 8:43 am

5 responses to “Scenic

  1. Great idea, Ann Dee! I’ll try it. I’m just getting ready to do some analyzing. Thanks for the great post and best of luck with all your upcoming events!

  2. Cheryl

    I’m in! What a great idea AnnDee 🙂

  3. Andrea

    Great idea. I need to do this today.

    I love how your boy thinks. Bite the strings, one at a time. That’s so awesome.

  4. i love that idea! i’m definitely going to do it.
    i’m sorry about the move – saying goodbye is so hard. but please say you’ll be in utah for awhile . . . because we’re coming back in july. 🙂

  5. THis is just what my writing friend and I were talking about today. I love how you connect your life with writing.

ThrowingUpComments

