Too Big Too Much

Once
this is a true story
there was a 2-yr-old child running down a sidewalk away from his mother.
A large woman–very very overweight–stepped out onto the sidewalk and started toward the boy.
He came to an abrupt halt, spun around and ran the other way saying,
“Too big. Too much. Too big. Too much.”

Once
there was a guy named Shel Silverstein.
He drew wonderful pictures
and scared a friend of mine whenever she saw his face on the back of
WHERE THE SIDEWALK ENDS (I think.)

He wrote this:
I will not play tug o’ war.
I’d rather play hug o’ war.
Where everyone hugs instead of tugs,
Where everyone giggles and rolls on the rug,
Where everyone kisses, and everyone grins, and everyone cuddles, and everyone wins.
http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/quotes/s/shelsilver204695.html#pw8vAv6HS3I3saeL.99
He also wrote about a little girl who ate an entire elephant one bite at a time.
One bite,
Just one.
Like the man who ate a cruise liner.
Or something.
One bite at a time.

Once
I saw this guy (on TV) open a whole line of beer bottles with his teeth.
He raced against someone who used the bottle opener to open the same number of bottles.
The human beer opener won.
But blood was running down his face and it made me super uncomfortable.

So I have too many books to write (not a bad thing a good thing)
with a rewrite of the DD first in line.

And I am so scared of this book.
And it’s due today (but luckily my editor isn’t in until tomorrow).
And I am still scared.
Why?
It’s not like eating a disgusting elephant (that would make me gag–think of the hair)
or massive machine that one would think might kill someone (think of the glass and metal and pooping later).

But the book has become too big
too much
and I’m running away from it.

I have to go.
I have work to do.
But I just thought I would share with all my friends.
You’ve listened to me whine and cry and etc for a hundred years now.
So one last time.

Yes, all these books written, some published, and it still scares me.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Too Big Too Much

  1. Too big. Too much. No time. What do we do????

  2. Cheryl

    Carol, you are amazing. You help build us up one post at a time. Someday when the tally is in, you will have built something far bigger than an oceanliner -you’ve created beautiful words and stories and humor that helps all of us out here to be brave and to try hard things.

  3. I’m cheering for you. I know you can do it and I, quite literally (two adverbs worth), can’t wait to read the DD, because the books that give us the hardest times, are probably the best.

    Just sayin’

  4. Kyra

    My teeth hurt now.

  5. Oh.
    My.
    Goodness!
    I am so glad to hear I’m not the only one who gets scared. Thank you for sharing how you feel. It might not take away my fear of writing, but it helps alleviate some of my fear of being afraid.

    Rebecca

  6. you are awesome and so are your books. (in that order.)
    HUGS to you. you’re brave, you’re strong, and you can do it.

  7. Shel Silverstein’s photo always scared me too! Why would they put that leering, bald man with bad teeth, blow up to such an enormous size, on the back of a children’s book? I wonder if it was another one of his dark-humored jokes…

ThrowingUpComments

