Looks Like We Missed Three Things Thursday

So here is a writing exercise or two:

If you could direct your own funeral, how would it run?
(I want a dance afterward.)
What would your obit say?

Now let’s think about our characters . . .
What would your main character say about herself in an obituary?
Who would miss her?
Why these specific people?

Last night I dreamed about one of the Project Runway cast shooting up people with a shotgun.
One of the guys from this year said, “Carol, take that gun from so and so and go shoot the moon.”
I looked at him. What??? Oh! This Was Code For Get The Gun!
I was not shot but there was a lot of blood AND a huge (HUGE) piece of concrete in the dream.

When your character daydreams, what are her thoughts?
What is her biggest and best dream for herself?

I have too much writing to do, which is good and bad. I’m very excited. Plus nervous. What if I can’t do what needs to be done?
Why did I set the books back in the olden days?
Why does when I was a kid HAVE to be the olden days?
Why don’t I have a better memory?
Why didn’t I steal a motor home when I was 14?

I also have a band of amazing new creative writing students who will soon write bits and pieces for the blog.
CRAFT pieces!
Woot woot!

Happy weekend 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under three thing thursday

3 responses to “Looks Like We Missed Three Things Thursday

  1. You really need to have a dance before you can’t attend it.

    Have a great weekend!

  2. Rebecca Birkin

    I agree. Dance. Soon. Mandatory.

  3. I want a good, old-fashioned wake, with hired keeners to do all the wailing. Then everybody else can relax and just have a good time. I’ll have to give a little more thought to the obit. Maybe I’ll write me one today.

ThrowingUpComments

