Because you should

We did it! We went to the beach and we went to Disneyland and we drove all night to get home in time to not do anything and sit around our messy house and talk about how WE DID IT! They boys even went on Pirates of the Caribbean and Star Tours (four year old hated it) and CARS and Goofy’s flying school and we DID IT!

I am officially proud of myself. Sometimes doing adult things, even taking a vacation, can seem overwhelming to me. Like just today my crown fell out. It was traumatic. It was at dinner. Cam immediately called the dentist and I said, don’t call the dentist. And he said, what are you talking about and I said, I don’t want to go to the dentist.

Because I’m scared of dentists, I’m scared of crowns that have fallen out of my mouth (it was HORRIBLE to get it in there in the first place), I’m scared of figuring out when I can go in the middle of my crazy day tomorrow and most of all I’m scared of reacting in mature ways to difficult situations.

This is why I write YA literature.

it’s also why I sometimes feel incredible guilt for not doing things that should be easy to do but I keep not doing them (answering emails, llstening to voicemails, making weekly dinner plans, shaving my legs) and not doing them until things seem to build up and build up and build up and grow longer and grow longer and grow longer until it gets so bad that the only way I can cope is to  crawl into bed and eat starbursts.

This may be why my crown fell out.

As for writing, I have to get a revision done by October 31st. This is a wonderful deadline because I LOVE Halloween AND I happen to have spooky things happen to me every single day in October.

What are YOU going to get done by Halloween?

This is also a wonderful deadline because it means on November 1st, my desk will be free of all obligations for a bit and I can actually maybe really and truly do NaNoWriMo! Can I? Will I? i really hope so. And I have these visions of having writing parties and eating starbursts and having breakthroughs and actually finishing a novel in 30 days.

Who else is in?

Won’t that be so adult of us?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Because you should

  1. I hate the dentist, too. I am never grown up about going. Or about taking my kids. My hubby has to make the appointments and remind me to go. Sigh.

    But congrats on Disneyland and your writing deadline. 🙂

  2. this reminds me that i have several dentist and dr appointments to make because we finally have insurance. i should be celebrating making them, but instead i put it off. every day.

    also, good luck with your october deadline! and i want to hear about these spooky things that happen every day. really – every day?

    and finally, i am in for november. i need an ambitious goal to get me moving forward. are we allowed to continue from a started novel if we rethink the whole thing?

  3. Good job on being a mom and taking your kids to Disneyland. Welcome to adulthood. If that doesn’t break you in, I don’t know what will.

    Also I’m with you on the Halloween deadline and the NaNoWriMo. So, there. Now we’re both adults.

ThrowingUpComments

