Three Thing Thursday

1. It snowed. It snowed and snowed and snowed and my boys were screaming: MOM!!!! It’s almost a blizzard out there! and I said: oh. cool. And they said, COME SEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE and I said: I will. I just have to remove crusted hardasarock Chex cereal from the table. And then they said: Hurry, hurry, hurry before it’s too late.

So I walked to the window and stood with them and watched the flakes come down. My five year old said: it looks like a force field.

My four year old said: I want to roll in it.

And my baby said: Gah!

And I it did look like a force field. And I sort of did want to roll in it. And Gah! why don’t I stop and look at the first snowfall of the year with a little more reverence.

2. Weigh in on this debate.  Would your MC go trick or treating? What would they wear if they did? How would they react when an old lady says they’re too darn old to be “out trolling for candy”?

3. I wish I had the guts and energy to have a proper Halloween party. Severed hand punch, grape eye-balls, brains meatloaf and wormy mud dessert (which my sister did to my kids and they were HORRIFIED–it was wonderful). Murder in the dark, bobbing for apples, homemade doughnuts and scary stories. I have big ideas and sometimes it’s hard for me to sort out which are worth the energy. One day, my friends. One day. Until then, I’ll have to satisfied with watching the Legend of Sleepy Hollow and eating caramel popcorn with my kids. Maybe we’ll even roast a pumpkin seed or two.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Three Thing Thursday

  1. I cancelled school and let my kids play outside all morning. As the snow melted, they found a shady spot on a side deck where tons of snow gathered and built snowmen. Now they’re sipping hot chocolate by the fire cause it’s mostly gone. Bliss.

  2. Estee

    No snow here–ever. But seriously, Chex needs to have a warning label: “This product may be used as a substitute for super glue. If dries on table or chairs you will NEVER get it off.”

  3. First off, I love that your five-year-old thinks snow looks like a force shield. You must be doing something right over there.

    Secondly, I had to run a half-mile through the snow at seven this morning to rescue my daughter, who had a memorable driving experience involving ice and slush and gutters. She could have used a force shield.

    Thirdly, I could use one, too.

    And fourth, I take my 16 and 13 year-old disabled sons trick or treating to a few houses around the neighborhood, but my hubby and I have been struggling with this same question. They are physically old and developmentally young. I just don’t know when someone is too old to trick or treat. As for teenagers who come to my house, I give them candy and secretly wish I was younger. Then I go to be early.

ThrowingUpComments

