No StuDentPaPers Just NaNoWriMo

For some reason I can’t get my downloads to work today. Or last week, for that matter.
But I have hints for you if you are writing like crazy people.

And a cool thing about WIFYR–this next year we will have a WHOLE novel class. That’s right. 6 lucky people will get to spend a week with their mentor, Mette Ivie Harrison, reviewing an entire novel. Mette and I have already spoken and this promises to be an amazing class. Wish I could take this myself.

So a few NaNo questions for you–

Are you accomplishing your goals?
Are you readjusting your belts?
No time to read now, maybe, so why not start a list of To Be Read books.
Do you know what the climax of your novel will be? It’s good to have an idea so you know where you are driving the motor home to. I can say this because I am working with a motor home and a one-legged rooster in my story.
Are you having fun?
How are family members helping you out?
What does your character want? Really want?
Do something today to hinder that quest.
Use the words orange, spectacular, and Disney Haunted Mansion in your piece today.
Watch this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_OO2PuGz-H8
This song inspired a book for me. Enjoy!
And another William Faulkner quote, “Perhaps they were right putting love into books. Perhaps it could not live anywhere else.”
Add LIGHT IN AUGUST to your To Be Read pile. I loved that book.

I have changed things up with NaNo for myself. Because I work on deadlines with publishers, my goals have been a little different: Have a book rewritten and sent off Tuesday night by midnight AND Thursday finish a draft of a novel that I started before NaNo then Friday start another book.

Ann Dee and Kyra and I sure love you all.
Does anyone want to do lunch? I can’t rent a room if we don’t have a goodly number of people wanting to come along. So let me know. 🙂

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “No StuDentPaPers Just NaNoWriMo

  1. A full novel class with Mette sounds fabulous. I’d love to be one of the six lucky peeps. I can’t wait to find out more. 🙂

  2. Bruce Luck

    Wow. Great questions. Nice dose of NaNo inspiration. Thanks.

  3. Wow, I’m seriously interested in the full novel class with Mette. Can I get on the ‘lucky people’ list? By the way, next year’s WIFYR is looking awesome!

  4. Elizabeth Dimit

    I’d love to be on the lucky people list, too, for Mette’s class. I love WIFYR!!

  5. Angie

    LOVE the Faulkner quote!

  6. Emily Tree

    I’m interested in the full novel class as well. It sounds wonderful!

  7. benschwensch

    Terrific idea to have a FULL NOVEL class—I taught a revision class [ReEnVision] once out of my home—ONLY for people who had a completed book. But Mine was once a week for 2 or 3 hours and went 8 weeks. It was fun, and we got a lot done. That’s AWESOME to do it in only a week!

ThrowingUpComments

