Two More Posts! NaNoWriMo and Writing When Times are Hard

NaNoWriMo: 30 Days of Ink
by Rena Lesue-Smithey
http://www.prose-spective.blogspot.com

This year was my first official attempt at National Novel Writing Month (Nanowrimo), and I will be a participant from here on out. Nanowrimo provided the deadline that I needed to finally finish my weight loss memoir. Also, the online support, weekly emails from nanos in the area and charting system, helped keep me on track. I loved the advice about reaching daily goals and reminders to back up my files.

Of course, the more personal support came from my peeps from this summer’s writing conference: WIFYR. We set various goals and supported each other through the process via our yahoo group.

By November 30th, I ended up with 50,183 words. Now Sugar Momma: A Loss Memoir is ready for revisions, and I’m ready for a nap.

Thank you, Nanowrimo and WIFYR!


Writing When Times are Hard

by Christopher Fitzgerald

My father experienced a stroke and heart attack within a matter of days. At the same time, my mother suffered from Alzheimer’s. Long term intervention by me was necessary. My writing output dwindled.

Here’s the good news. When I got back to writing, my creativity soared. It’s counter-intuitive to think that stepping away from writing improves one’s writing. For me, that was the case.

Even during happy times, I’ve put aside manuscripts for a week or two in order to recharge.

There’s another benefit to hard times. Grappling with hardship gives writers ideas. Those ideas can be conveyed with authenticity. Readers empathize with stories written by authors who’ve walked their talk.

Consider hard times as a prime opportunity for creativity.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

ThrowingUpComments

