Christmas Advent #8–Love and Christmas Advent #9–Falling Asleep

In less than 1000 words, write about someone you love. The trick is to write this without getting sentimental or sappy or using abstract words. Don’t say you love them. Instead, show you love them. Show who this person is. By the time the reader is done with your piece, they should know this person, understand what they are like, and connect with why you love them. It’s harder than it sounds.

Christmas Advent #8–Stephen King recently spoke to some university students. He said this:

“My method for starting anything is I tell myself the story when I’m laying in bed at night, waiting to go to sleep,”

Tomorrow night, tell yourself a story while you are laying in bed waiting to go to sleep. See what you get. Write it down the next day if it stays with you.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Christmas Advent #8–Love and Christmas Advent #9–Falling Asleep

  1. Ooh. That’s how I start my stories too. I tell them to myself over and over again until after a few months, I’ve got a nice fleshed-out story. Then I start outlining. 🙂 #OCDwriteralert

  2. Lucinda A Felix

    I like this challenge. Too bad I start with characters more than storyline. Maybe I should force myself to try telling a story at night. Or just write down the movie I made up in my dreams in the morning.

ThrowingUpComments

