Kyra Leigh, Queen Bee, Day Ten, continued!

30 minutes off, 30 minutes on.
I think I can live by that. Gives me time to do some reading. Reddit-ing, music studying, etc.
Found some interesting writing quotes from Writers Digest. I’m sure you’ve all read them. But some are pretty funny.
 
 
“The road to hell is paved with works-in-progress.”
-Philip Roth. 
 
My road to hell is a mile and a half long. Everything I have I feel is a work in progress. Do published authors feel like even their published works feel like it could have used more? It sounds like a scary road.
“The road to hell is paved with adverbs.”
-Stephen King
That’s one that my mother can agree with.
“Writing a book is a horrible, exhausting struggle, like a long bout of some painful illness. One would never undertake such a thing if one were not driven on by some demon whom one can neither resist nor understand.” 
-George Orwell
“Write. Rewrite. When not writing or rewriting, read. I know of no shortcuts.”
-Larry L. King
“When your story is ready for rewrite, cut it to the bone. Get rid of every ounce of excess fat. This is going to hurt; revising a story down to the bare essentials is always a little like murdering children, but it must be done.”
-Stephen King
“I would advise anyone who aspires to a writing career that before developing his talent he would be wise to develop a thick hide.”
-Harper Lee
More quotes here!
Happy writing!
3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Kyra Leigh, Queen Bee, Day Ten, continued!

  1. sueburton

    Writing is fun. –Sue Burton

    You can quote me. 😉

    Last night I outlined my resolution chapter. Today, in looking it over, I decided it wasn’t happy, surprising, or satisfying enough. Inevitable–yes. But not much fun for the ending of a children’s book.

    So I thought about it and wrote while I thought. And I came up with a more satisfying, more fun, more happy, and more surprising ending.

    See? Writing is fun. 🙂

  2. sueburton

    “When your story is ready for rewrite, cut it to the bone. Get rid of every ounce of excess fat… it must be done.”
    -Stephen King
    I have a question about this. I don’t mean it as an argument; I’m truly seeking enlightenment.

    There have been a few times in my past when I’ve had to severely restrict my diet. I had to eat fruits and vegetables almost exclusively. It is still the case that I am more healthy if I eat that way, but I don’t because I don’t like to. I like French fries and chips and chocolate. I like bread and cheese and meat. I like dressing on my salad.

    It sounds like Mr. King is recommending the fruit and vegetable diet for the writer and his readers. Probably I’m missing something, but what is it? Surely it’s OK, and even healthy, to have a bit of fat in our stories. Add some meat and dessert and I think it will be even more enjoyable. I’m not sure I can cut out every excess calorie in my book.

    • Kyra

      I think of it as cut every unneeded line, tag, adverb, unnecessary description/scene/. Basically I think of it as cut anything that doesn’t add to your story or move it forward.
      Make the good parts shine. But this is rewriting in general. A lot gets taken out, and a lot gets added in.

      But I’m sure it’s open to interpretation.

      🙂

      ps. I also like dressing on my salad. And a lot of it.

ThrowingUpComments

