Three Things To Do with My New Book Today

So I don’t really have a new book. Not yet.

Before I start anything else I have a ton of finals to grade, and then two more books (that I am writing with friends) to finish.

(I am excited about BOTH these friends books! One I have written with my daughter, Laura. We’re in copyediting mode on that one. The other I am working on with my very good friend Melanie Skelton. Plus, I have a novel more than halfway completed, a middle grade, that I wrote Nano before last. I think I am ready to finish that.)

And there’s the moving.

Something I Have Discovered

I simply cannot do everything on my own. I need help.

But today, in between all that, here is what I must do as far as the Next Book:

1. As I work, I will let the ideas (I have three or four which feel more important) percolate in my head.

Which means the most to me?

Which moves me the most?

Do I want to laugh and write ghosty things?

Do I want to spend some really sad time investigating the other novel?

Do I want to get into the head of someone who’s really sick?

I know which sounds easiest, but which is best for me, now, as a writer?

2. I need to talk this over with a friend.

Lay everything out of the table.

What is best for me? For my career? For my well-being (I’ve been pretty depressed this winter. The new TV shows Hannibal and Bates Motel haven’t brought my mood up.)?

3. I must take notes. When the ideas start for the books, I can’t expect to remember them. I hardly know my own name right now.

But these notes aren’t just snippets of ideas. Yes, those will be there.  I need some notes  detailing what I think could happen in all three books.

For example, I know the beginning and end, only, of the two darker novels. A few additional scenes with one of them.

The funny book, I sort of know the whole plot–and have a faded idea of the ending.

So notes are essential.

I know I won’t have  time to really write today so I have to use my jotting-down-times (as the ideas strike me) effectively.

What would YOU like to see from me, The Best Five Readers in the World?

Ghosty?

Dark and Scary?

Contemporary Sad (that might be a sequel to another hard novel I wrote)?

Now I need to get going on the day’s very long list.

Taking a deep breath.

And I am off.

9 Comments

Filed under CLW, Depression, Plot, writing process

9 responses to “Three Things To Do with My New Book Today

  1. Ghosty. Miles From Ordinary had the perfect ghost story feel that I love so much. Would love a ghost story. But think you should do the contemporary sad too.

  2. Kim

    That’s a tough choice. I like everything you write. I think I’d like you to laugh and write ghosty things. That sounds like fun. 🙂

  3. Contemporary sad. You’re just so good at it.

  4. Rebecca Birkin

    I agree with Ilima. I would especially love to see a sequel to the “other hard novel” that the librarian here says she can’t keep on the shelf.

  5. I started watching hannibal the other night and had to turn it off. Write funny. Let’s talk about it.

  6. i want to read your funny book because i think you could use some funny right now. that said, i want to read one that might be a sequel too! but do what helps you have a better year. from someone who’s had a hard year so far, happy needs to win out sometimes.

  7. My vote is for the funny/ghostly option. So much serious right now, I could use some laughter for sure.

  8. Cheryl

    Something to lift our spirits! We need a boost after Boston as only you can do it Carol!

  9. CLW

    I know, we need something. I still feel just ill. Saw the pic of the 8-yr-old who died yesterday.

    That said–I did just write a funny book.
    Ack.
    Keep the suggestions coming.
    I’ll let everyone know what I am doing as soon as I know.

ThrowingUpComments

