THE TOTALLY RAD CHALLENGE OF THE SUMMER OF 2013 AND WIFYR

Things have been quiet here because Carol and Kyra are running a conference this week. The best writing for young readers conference in the land. You can still register for single day workshops and I promise, you won’t regret it. I got my start at the conference and have also taught workshops. I can’t say enough good things about it. If you have a free day or you can make a free day if you do some rearranging, I highly recommend doing it. 

And now for the challenge. I wrote. But not fiction. Ugh. It will come. I’m being patient with myself. I read. But not a chapter a day. one day was many chapters. Other days, none. And finally I GOT IN A POOL! Which is really the most important goal.

This week:

Writing: Pick an idea/character for a novel and start writing. OR Pick a book that needs to be revised and start revising. Bottom line: Do something.

Reading: Chapter a day

Fun: Ride a bike. 

What are your goals?

While everyone is partying at the conference and the rest of us are left back home, I think we should do some group writing. 

Today: Write a fight. Your MC and their best friend get into it. Where are they? What are they doing? What starts the fight? What ends it? Write the scene. 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “THE TOTALLY RAD CHALLENGE OF THE SUMMER OF 2013 AND WIFYR

  1. sueburton

    I was taking a walk on Sunday evening (before WIFYR) with my husband and our dog. A scene from my youth came to mind (an uncomfortable one, of course) and then it turned into a character and a story. Had to sit down under a streetlight and write it all out.

    Got three chapters of a book read tonight. More WIFYR tomorrow.

  2. You were a professional when you went to that conference, we all saw it and were amazed. You were born a professional, that happens sometimes and everyone should take of their hats–if we were a hat wearing people–and applaud. We should have done it then, so consider the applause done now, late. PLEASE tell Carol to not forget the sweeties that are all in boxes in my living room! Ack! She couldn’t have forgotten, could she?

  3. READING: I did finish reading (before WIFYR) all of Dillard’s THE WRITING LIFE–peculiar in some ways, but WAY good; and worked on the Stern, but not quite finished with the last section NEXT UP: RECUPERATE from WIFYR which was GREAT and totally exhausting! (I have gone to it for years and years—was in Cheri Pray Earl’s class this time and worked harder than EVER BEFORE! GREAT class, as so many of them are. Cheri was—as she always is—fabulous!) Here’s recuperation plan: Sat/Sun: SLEEP. Read. Mon: Leave for Shakespeare Festival. NOT write while I’m there, but read when I can. Fri: return to SLC. Answer emails.

    WRITING: Did the several “small” assignments for WIFYR and some rewriting. But everyday our TA from !@#$ kept sending more (she was GREAT, like Cheri). And got ALMOST every assignment done before the end! NEXT UP: see above.

    FUN: Did read, briefly, in a couple of Cheri’s suggested authors for WIFYR, but will read even more this week. NEXT UP: SWIM ! ! ! See half the Shakespeare plays and one at Tuacahn. (Will see the rest later in the summer.)

    THANKS FOR WIFYR CAROL, CHERI, AMY WHITE, STEPHEN FRASER AND ALL THE REST ! ! !

ThrowingUpComments

