Some things:

  1. “There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.” ― Maya Angelou  How many of you are in agony? 
  2. “I can shake off everything as I write; my sorrows disappear, my courage is reborn.” ― Anne Frank Is this true for you? Does writing buoy you up? Give you your feet back?
  3. “A good [short story] would take me out of myself and then stuff me back in, outsized, now, and uneasy with the fit.” ― David SedarisWhat stories or books have done this to you? I just finished Martine Leavitt’s My Book of Life by Angel and I feel this way. 
  4. “The beautiful part of writing is that you don’t have to get it right the first time, unlike, say, a brain surgeon.”  ― Robert Cormier This is one of my favorite quotes and very true. We get a lot of chances with our writing. 

The End

3 Comments

by | October 16, 2013 · 9:52 am

3 responses to “

  1. LOVE the #4 quote. And yes, I am in agony. I have too many stories I want to tell and not enough time.

  2. Amy

    I just posted the Maya Angelou quote myself! It truly resonates.The other writing quote I’ve been rolling around in my brain was told to me by Paul Harding (Pulitzer winning author of Tinkers) that he said he got from Marilynne Robinson (Another Pulitzer winner, American novelist and essayist), “Good art embodies it’s own meaning.” So profound, and so very very true–at least in my own humble opinion.

  3. Cheryl

    Thank you for this post! I’m going to print these up and stick them around my office!

ThrowingUpComments

