Monday and Math

Yes! Math!

Yesterday (or the day before), I did some figuring.

If we wrote 2,000 words, 5 days a week, for the year–well, have you ever thought what could happen?

Here’s my figuring–my notes to myself. I’ve been thinking about 2-2.5 hours of writing a day (not editing, not research, not reading book, not staring off into space [which is a part of writing], but actually putting the words on the page). I can write about 1000 words an hour. Give or take.

“If I worked 200 days of the year (taking off 2.5 months and Friday and Saturdays), and if I wrote the 2000 words per day, I would end up with 2000 x 200= 400,000 words. This is eight 50,000 word novels. Drafts. Eight! And at 2000 words a day.

What could YOU do in 200 days?

At 1000 words a day. Not taking off 2.5 months. Working Saturdays, too.

What would happen if you wrote like writing was your job?

Let us know.

And read this article. It’s great. Interesting.

http://www.authormagazine.org/articles/thayer_james_2009_04_09.htm

I got a free calendar my the drugstore. Each day I will put my numbers in so I can see what I’m doing. And if I give myself some leeway, I may see my output change a little.

 

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under CLW, writing process

3 responses to “Monday and Math

  1. Karen Pierotti

    Graham Greene: Wow!

  2. benschwensch

    When I started writing my words on 750 words dot com (free for a month; $5 a month if you want to continue — it’s nice, sends you a daily reminder to do your words and awards online “badges” for different achievements), I found if I put in an hour each day I was averaging around 1500 words for that hour. I think I’ll start by adding a calendar to that idea, AND keep not only my number of words for the day, but also a running total. Actually, if I wanted to do ALL my writing on the 750, I’m already closing in on 200,000 words since I started last July 28. And I haven’t been totally faithful to doing it EVERY day. LOVE the calendar idea — thanks for that AND the article!

  3. DRC

    I believe this is the secret of prolific writers: 2000 wpd. If you look at the output of Brandon Sanderson or James Dashner it only makes sense with a high daily word count. Then there are some authors like James Patterson who hire multiple authors to write 2000 wpd for them like a movie studio does with multiple producers. Somewhere between where we are now and the insane pace of the word grind we need to find our happy medium so that we can produce as many high quality works as we can while we are alive.

ThrowingUpComments

