A Guest Post AND a Writing Prompt

Lonely this weekend, find fun women and fun times.

That was in my spam.

Gotta look in the spam. Lots of ways to spend your weekend in the spam.

We Have a Guest Post!!!!! Woot woot!

Kyra’s cute, cute friend, Kati Seiber has a book review for us. And here it is:

Let’s Pretend this Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) by Jenny Lawson

I picked this book up from the corner store at the airport. I judged it by its cover. Just needed a quick something before my flight took off.  The tiny mouse in a cape and the “mostly true” title caught my eye. With the limited selection I was given, it was a no brainer for me. I’m glad I listened to myself.

The pleasant surprise was that this book was loaded with amusing stories that you slightly hope are NOT true for the sake of the author. But at the same time your laughing your butt off  wondering “Should I be laughing at this?” or “Am I bad person for finding so much humor in some’s misery?”

I loved Jenny from the start for her true knack of storytelling, I felt as if she were a friend that was entertaining me over a bottle of wine for a night in.

The numerous stories she shares range from 1) her taxidermist father using an animal carcass as a puppet to 2) her saying yes to a marriage proposal so she could leave and go pee. (which sounds very reasonable to me)

If you’re the type of person that reads in public and doesn’t mind strangers awkwardly glancing in your direction while you try to control your laughter then I would definitely recommend this book. (Warning! Also you must be okay with swearing and very uncomfortable situations.)

Thanks, Kati!

Writing Prompt

The month is almost over–so keep going! Here it is . . .

What is at risk for both  our main character and her favorite lover boy IF they get together?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under CLW, Exercises, Kyra, writing process

ThrowingUpComments

