Monday, Monday

This is the first time in a long time I have been between projects.

Something is sitting with an editor.

And I’m getting ready to sign a contract for another scary book.

Scary in that way I’m-not-sure-I-can-get-this-one-done scary.

 

How do you get thru the trouble spots in your writing?

What if the whole novel is a trouble spot?

I’m doing  the Cynthia Leitich Smith thing where I have written a the book, now I’m throwing it away. Yes. She throws away the whole thing!  I am throwing it mostly away. (There are only two places left in Cynthia’s class at WIFYR. If you are interested to to http://www.wifyr.com)

 

Now it’s time to ask myself what I ask my students: what does my character want and how will I keep her from getting it?

 

1 Comment

Filed under CLW, Life, Plot, Revision, writing process

One response to “Monday, Monday

  1. You know what Ernest Hemingway days. “There’s nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at the typewriter and bleed.” When I’m in a tough spot with my story, I push the heck through it by keeping on keeping on. Even if it’s bloody, the words are on the page, and it’ll one day shape into a story.

ThrowingUpComments

