Today I’m 

a. not going to get mad because it’s supposed to get cold again.

b. going to work on my book that I have a full draft of but feel like it’s not good enough so I’m tempted to trash it even though first drafts are never good enough. This book keeps whispering to me “keep me. keep going. keep trying.” One of the hardest parts of writing is when you can feel the potential of something but you don’t feel the confidence that you can make it what it can be. I know that if something HUGE can be done, this book could become something. I mostly just want people to tell me what to do. I want people to fix everything for me. I don’t want to do the work on my own because my brain is tired.

c. going to try to do laundry. 

d. going to read through an old manuscript that I worked on for two years. I have several drafts with several points of view and several plots and several characters all revolving around the same idea. I want so badly for this book to work but it never has. How do you know when to give up completely? 

e. going to hang upside down from the jungle gym in my yard. 

What are you going to do today? 

4 Comments

by | May 6, 2014 · 6:28 am

4 responses to “

  1. rbirkin1

    I can relate. I have several old drafts that need tons of work. I want someone to tell me what to fix, too. You gave good advice–keep going on a book that calls to you.

  2. CLW

    I am going to drive past when you are hanging upside down in the jungle gym.

    And the laundry–here, that is a lost cause.

  3. I’ll be wearing a skirt.

  4. Well, in that case, I’ll be driving by too. You made me laugh. Its a good feeling to laugh, and doesn’t happen often enough. So, thanks.

ThrowingUpComments

