Three Things Thursday

by Cheryl

Ah, November. That magical time of year when writers pull together, ignore all responsibilities, and wear our pjs all day long. I’m not participating this year, but in a show of solidarity I pledge to do these things every day this month.
Right now is the easy part. It’s the time when you have the most energy and excitement about your project. Try to use it to your advantage. Get ahead if you can. You’ll be glad you did come Thanksgiving weekend!
by Brenda

What are YOU reading for NaNo this month ? ? ?

WHAT ! ? !  I’m supposed to write 50,000 words AND READ ? ? ?’

I’ve heard people say at WIFYR – and many other writers’ workshops as well – that if you don’t have time to read you don’t have time to write.  I’ve learned to accept that edict, so last year, in December, I took it upon myself to sign up with a group (some of you are no doubt members) that challenged us to read 100 books in a year.

When I was a kid, my favorite thing on Christmas Day, after all the initial excitement of finding what Santa brought me, was to snuggle down with a column of crackers and my new Christmas book and READ.  So, kid-like, I decided to start on Dec. 25.  I still have 25 books to go, but I’ll should be finished with 2 more of them today and tomorrow.

What I’ve decided about NaNo, and I’ve probably mentioned here already, is to write for one hour (I can usually get about 1,000 words in that length of time), then read for one hour – but ONLY genre-related books to what I’m writing – then write for a final hour.  Between 8 and 11 am I COULD be done with all that, and still have some time for, you know, family, housekeeping, etc., etc., etc..

So, what am I reading for NaNo?  I’m writing a fantasy, so I’m reading fantasies.  Part of my year’s plan was to re-read a few books, so NaNo has been a continuation of that: I re-read one of my “all time” favorites: The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale.  Such poetry, inundation of SOUND, magic in the very air surrounding me as I read!  Of COURSE, I followed that up with Hale’s Enna Burning – which was also a re-read and moved on to the next two of the series, which were new to me: River Secrets and Forest Born,  And I’ve started her Book of a Thousand Days. Back at the end of September I’d read the first 2 volumes of The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel: The Alchemyst and The Magician by Michael Scott. So within the next few days I’ll start the 3rd book of that series: The Sorceress.  Getting through the last of those volumes should take me well into December. But to get 23 more books done by Dec. 25?  I may have to read a few SHORT ones, once NaNo is over.

Back to my question: what are YOU reading for NaNo ? ? ? I’d like to know!

by Me
We’re gonna do A Writer’s Baby Shower!
Details to come.
🙂
My NaNo goals this month:
Rewrite three novels
Leave a comment

Filed under CLW

ThrowingUpComments

