Three Thing Thursday

Brenda:
When I write I think most of my characters end up in a Utopian world (well, except for the curves I try to put in their way.)  They never have a day like I’ve had today: I THINK it’s just a cold.  “Just”?  It started three or four days ago, by being a little spot in my throat: when my nerves had “gotten to me.” I used to suddenly sprout  one to five cankers in my mouth or along my gum, even down my throat. Hadn’t happened for YEARS. That’s what this felt like days ago.  And it HURT ! ! !  But I didn’t worry.  It’s not like cankers are catching.  (Are they?)  By yesterday afternoon the entire throat was inflamed, burning like crazy.  Woke up today with my throat less bothersome.  There: THAT’S taken care of.  WRONG.  By noon I was sure the flu shot I got in September had finally kicked in, and I had what was only going to be a “mild” case.  Now, the sneezing, coughing (through an already roughed-up throat) and runny nose feels more like a REALLY NASTY cold.  And my energy is totally sapped.
Why don’t my MC’s suffer like this?
Or what if they DID ? ? ?
It could happen.  And if I want it to feel real, it should be at the absolutely WORST time imaginable.  How does that change my MC’s mood?  Actions?  Activities?  Decisions?
Does s/he just GIVE UP?  Fight through it?  Stop everything to go to the doctor, witch doctor, community Elder?  And are their “cures” worth the vellum they’re written on?  And how much does a good Voo Doo cure cost?  And how and WHEN must it be paid?
So, what’s wrong with YOUR MC?  And how is s/he going to deal with it?
If nothing else, this may make him/her seem more “real” !
Me:
For NaNo–How are you doing?
Getting those words?
Moving that plot?
I was okay the first week. Almost made it the whole way writing 2000 words a day. Since Saturday, I haven’t written a  thing. Including for this blog. Today, I’m starting anew. I can’t let the last week throw me. If I can do more than 2000 words each day, I will. However, if I can’t, I can’t.
My goal for this 50,000 words was to finish a picture book, get a draft of a mid grade and rewrite a novel. (The novel Ann Dee and I are working on. Still.)
Picture book is done. Lots of new pages in the mid grade. And I even know some of what I want to happen there in the icky middle that’s staring me in the face.
Nose to the grindstone (OUCH!) on this Ann Dee book.
What about you?
Don’t fall behind like I did. However, if you have, pick up as though you haven’t. At the end of the month you may not have a full novel, but you will be almost there.
Or, you may add 1000 words a day and catch up.
YOU CAN DO IT.
Last Thing: I’m reading tomorrow at the library at BYU. Basement auditorium. Noon.
If you have time, drop in. Cookies when it’s over.
🙂
2 Comments

Filed under Character, CLW, three thing thursday

2 responses to “Three Thing Thursday

  1. gabapple

    I finally broke 10k two days ago. Still trying to catch up, but progress is progress! Go every NaNoer! We can do it!

ThrowingUpComments

