Three Thing Thursday

Carol:

We have 2 or 3 spots left in the 2-day workshop with Steve Fraser, agent with the Jennifer De Chiara Literary Agency.

Go here for information:

Two Days with Stephen Fraser

 

Cheryl

 I took on a project. A writing project. It’s just a short story to be put in an anthology with some other authors, but it’s more than I’ve been doing for a long time. 

I’m nervous. Do I still have it? Did I ever?
I don’t know. But I’m going to try.
And the beautiful thing? Almost as soon as I agreed, ideas poured into my head. Like they’ve been waiting for me. Like they’ve been holding back, respecting my space, understanding that I’m sleep deprived and stressed and being pushed beyond my limits. But as soon as I called out, they were there.
I’m not ready. But I’m going for it anyway.
Brenda:
This quote puzzled me: “A writer shouldn’t be engaged with other writers, or with people who make books, or even with people who read them. The farther away you get from the literary traffic, the closer you are to sources. I mean, a writer doesn’t really live, he observes” ~ Nelson Algren
WHAT ? ? ?
Now, this is a man who wrote, “Never Come Morning” WITH some help/input from Kurt Vonnegut — a “friend” with whom he taught at a university. Moreover, his books, all out of print at Algren’s death, were defended and resurrected by the likes of some of his writer “friends”: Russell Banks, James R. Giles; Studs Turkel, who evidently took on the task of republishing his out-of-print or banned books.
So my advice is hang out with writers. Find a critique group, or “Found” a critique group. Go to Life, the Universe and Everything (LTUE), or LDStorymakers, or Writing and Illustrating for Young Readers (WIFYR). Do a summer National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) at Camp NaNo, and make online friends with your writing buddies. Then do it again in November. And there are others as well.  (And GO LIVE TOO ! ! ! )
Writers helping writers. That’s what a REAL writing community is: and your writer friends will give advice, explain some of the “rules,” offer helpful critiques, encourage you when you’re ready to give up, hug you when you need it most, and generally KEEP YOU WRITING ! ! !
Leave a comment

Filed under three thing thursday

ThrowingUpComments

