Hope

Today you should write about hope.  It’s raining outside and our backyard is full of yard toys and shoes and sleds and cups and chairs and bags and cardboard. I told my boys this morning that when a neighbor came to visit and saw our backyard, she started to barf all over the place.

Really? my oldest asked.

All over.

Where?

She was barfing here, over there, in the couch, on the piano, it was really sad.

They stared at me.

I stared at them.

Before they left for school, they went out and picked up a skateboard and a boot. It felt like a victory.

Write about the small victories that come from messes. That come from rain. That come from death. That come from trashy yards. That come from manipulating your children with vomit.

Every story deserves some hope.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Hope

  1. You make me want to do many things, including break into the old computer and get my books off so I can see if they are salvageable. I love your life. I know it’s busy and messy and complicated and that makes it even more wonderful because it’s also right.

ThrowingUpComments

