Spring Break

 

Lately, I’ve been feeling like someone took the iron, got it good and hot, and ironed me out.

 

This kind of metaphor, what do you think it means? I’m feeling good or I’m feeling bad? I’m a better, starcher person with all my wrinkles ironed out or I’ve been flattened and burned and might not be able to get up again?

Sometimes things pop into my head, images, ideas, scenarios and I realize to me they make sense, I know the emotion that is tied to them but readers might not.

For example, sometimes I want to lay underneath a semi truck. Not really. But sort of. Then I realize, if I write that down, will people think I mean I want to be hit by semi truck? Because I don’t. At all. I think being under a semi truck would be warm and inconspicuous and you could eavesdrop and in real life it would not be good at all but in fake life, I think it would be nice and cozy? See? I’m weird. I’ve lost you. Because that’s not normal, wanting to lay under a semi truck.

We have to think carefully about the metaphors and images we use. Are they clear? Do they need too much explanation? (though that’s not always bad–sometimes that can show a character and make her/him different). The pictures we paint with our words have power. You just want to make sure you’re taking your reader in the direction you want them to go.

And so, lately I’ve been feeling I’ve been ironed out. Flattened. You guess what that means.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Spring Break

  1. Lynne

    I love your semi-truck explanation–so different than what I first imagined. So weird and cozy that I want to lay under one too.

    • benschwensch

      AnnDee — I FINALLY got my hands on “Everything Is Fine,” today and read it I’ve tried to keep track of the books I read, and when I finished each of them, just to jog my memory when I see or hear the title again. Just wanted to share what I wrote just now about your book:Incredible, affecting, laugh-out-loud-funny and sob-worthy toward the end, this is a book which will not let me go soon. I always love to read AnnDee’s blogs on Throwing Up Words. No matter how non-sensical, or “depressed stay-at-home mother” they may be, she always makes me laugh first. Then she catapults the subject off in another direction, and wrings the heart out of the reader. And THAT, gives direction to how to turn YOUR similar experience into a book, an article, a poem, whatever. But WRITE. WRITE IT ALL DOWN.

      Thank you, AnnDee, for your always funny, always heart-felt, always encouraging words pushing us all along the publishing path ! ! !

ThrowingUpComments

