Three Thing Thursday

From me:

Look what I found!

I’m getting ready to rite a mystery novel.

And here’s a site that says more than, Just Do it.

https://nancycurteman.wordpress.com/2010/10/28/how-to-write-a-mystery-novel-synopsis/

 

From Cheryl:

Lately I’ve been writing short stories, which is nice, because I get to try out different styles of writing. The first was action, the second was horror, and the last is contemporary. For the first two, I used first person present tense, but for the last, it just didn’t work. The main character is a man, after all, and I really struggle getting into the thoughts of men. But when I went to a close 3rd person narrative, all of a sudden it came together. I could focus on the behavior of the character, because I knew that. He needs to always have a plan, and keeps from getting overwhelmed by focusing on just his next step. He doesn’t focus on appearance, but is aware of its importance to other people. He cares about his sister, but doesn’t say it. However, every choice he makes is with her in mind.

First person really helps to get into the head of the person. It makes that character come alive, and makes us care about them. But sometimes 3rd person works, if we need a wider perspective. In this case, I didn’t want my reader to immediately connect with the character. I want the thoughts in his head to be a mystery. I want people to wonder about his motives and his desires.

Do you have a preferred point of view? Do you ever change for certain stories?
From LoriAnne:

Fear of Finishing

“Are you finished writing that book yet?” Uughh… I’m sick of that question. For me, as I get closer to finishing this first book, why don’t I instinctively “lean for the tape” and just finish the blasted thing?

Carol likes to compare the beginning of a story to having a new boyfriend – it’s exciting, it’s sexy and you spend a lot of time with them. When you’re not with them, you think about them.

Endings are like some middle-age marriages. It’s often about endurance.

  I get caught in the whirlpool of revision, even with small phrases. To keep pushing forward, you must let that first draft be ugly. Just write and don’t allow yourself to stop and polish. But how?

1.       Show up – set the time aside, sit down and turn do NOT open your browser.

2.       Set a timer and write something about anything for five minutes without stopping, even if it has nothing to do with your book. Just get your fingers moving.

3.       Open your file and read just the last line where you left off and write for five minutes in that scene. The next day make it ten minutes. The next fifteen. You will build writing stamina and a habit.

4.       If you are stuck, skip ahead for little while and write a scene in your book that you are really looking forward to writing. Then go back and see if your brain has worked out a path for how to get your MC where you want them to go.  Then go back and write the weaving in-between those scenes.

So, if I know what to do, and how to do it, let’s see how well I listen to myself. I’ll give you an update next week.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Three Thing Thursday

  1. Bruce

    Great resource, Carol. I’ve been working on a mystery, too, and the Global Mysteries site is good.

ThrowingUpComments

