Well . . . ?

How did you do on your July writing goals?

Unfortunately, I had a computer malfunction and so I couldn’t write on my work-for-hire piece–the 1000 words per day. (Dang it!)

So I failed at that part.

However, I wrote with Ann Dee (though we changed our project and began a massive rewrite of our first book) and we did that consistently.

I found my lost notes for my murder mystery and did the impossible for me: I wrote a blurb–just a few paragraphs long (after a failed synopsis that I felt very proud of) and the first 10 or 15 pages of the book for the proposal.

I sent to my agent.

He liked the package.

We’ll see what happens.

I also read. I finished two books and began another.

And I met with Sherry Meidell (http://www.sherrymeidell.com/) and we discussed a nonfiction book idea together.

What was your success rate?

What do you feel good about?

 

So you all notice, of course, that this is Monday.

And today is August One!

Which means A New Month to Work Your Goals Over.

I just read this:

http://www.inc.com/jeff-haden/an-nearly-foolproof-way-to-achieve-every-goal-you-set-wed.html

What do you think?

 

I had hoped to take this semester off as I’ve been exhausted. Unfortunately, I have to teach. And the department has raised my class load from 15 to 20 students (in creative writing classes) and 5 more bodies (living ones) added to all other classes. Don’t get me started on how I feel about this. What it means is, my students won’t get the care and attention they have in the past.

Anyway, as I approach the fall, I want to give my all to three things: my family, getting organized and writing. One more big push.

What about you?

 

Here’s a writing exercise.

This one is for voice. Voice is the sound of your novel, the way you say things that shows these words are yours, it’s the distinctive stamp that allows a reader to know–in a few words–this is your book.

Sometimes the best writing my students do is when we start the class and I give them five minutes to write something.

They’re moving quickly, working through the prompt, with little time to correct themselves or think in fancy ways.

They are more themselves.

 

Spend no more than 5 minutes on this exercise.

On day one, first thing, allow yourself to write from a your main character who is in a chilling situation. Get into that character’s head. Write as fast as you can. As much as you can. Be that character.

The next day, do the same thing, but from another character’s voice. Same situation. Different POV.

Keep going for 7 days.

Look through the eyes of a dog.

The neighbor who is nameless and passes by.

Don’t reread until this exercise is completed. Each new day is a different voice but it’s the same chilling situation.

What do you learn in this 5 minutes?

How is each telling the same?

Different?

Who do you discover?

What do you discover?

 

Happy writing. Even in the Icky Middles.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under CLW, Exercises

ThrowingUpComments

