Today, Literacy, Solutions, and More by Rick Walton

Those of us who live in Utah are so lucky. There are lots of reason, of course. But if you are a writer in UT you’re the luckiest person around because you have Rick Walton, author of more than 80 books for kids. Rick has worked tirelessly over the years making Utah a place where writers are born. I’ve been lucky enough to be along for part of the ride. It’s been his goal for years to help anyone he can. And he does. He works along side up-and-coming writers and illustrators and he’s a friend to the published writer.

So our blog post is from Rick today and before you read this I want to just say, “Rick, thank you. Thank you for all you have done for the writers and illustrators of our community. Thanks for being everyone’s firend. Thank you for trying to help so many publish. Thank you for giving of your time. You are an example to us all.”

We’d love to hear from you all about Rick’s suggestions. Please pass this blog (however you do that) to all your reader/writer/illustrator/teacher friends. He makes some interesting points. And I told you–Rick wants to help everybody. Let’s help him.

The children’s book world recently went to a minor convulsion when the Today Show decided that for the first time in several years they would not have the winners of the Caldecott and the Newbery. It felt too many like a slap in the face, and a blow to literacy, and books. There has been much talk about what should be done. How do you address this problem?

I love to tackle impossible problems, and I have been trying to think of the solution to the Today Show problem.

But then I realize that I need to figure out what the real problem is.

Is it that the awards don’t get enough attention? Only, I believe, in the sense that the main value of the awards is that they draw attention to books and reading.

Is it that writers aren’t glitzy enough to be seen as celebrity? I’ve never liked the idea of authors as celebrities. It’s the books, it’s reading, it’s literacy that matters.

Is it even more fundamental, that kids aren’t reading and writing? Actually, with computer gaming, texting, and social media, kids are reading and writing more than ever.

But from what I see, the reading and writing of the e-world lacks some things that traditional reading and writing can provide.

Books ask us to explore ideas, people, and worlds with much more depth and complexity. We are led to think rather than just respond. Because books ask us to give more, we get more.

Reading connects us with our past. It helps us understand where we came from, which helps us better shape where we are going.

Writing teaches us to think and communicate more clearly. I am amazed that kids in the schools I visit don’t think of themselves as writers, don’t understand the real reason for writing education.

Love of and skill at reading and writing, I believe, lead to more rational thinking, more clear communication, more imagination and creativity, more understanding, more compassion. These are things the world desperately needs.

So how does this translate into real action?

I look for a panacea and I don’t see it. But I see a lot of smaller possibilities that take us in the right direction.

And for me that is the answer. If each of us does whatever we can, wherever we have ability and influence, then we can go far.

Just a few thoughts and ideas, in no particular order:

1. I take heart in my perception that book reading by kids and adults has increased.

2. We should acknowledge and support the good things that are being done.

3. We can recognize that the greatest influence is local–friends, parents, teachers, libraries.

4. We can get books into the hands of kids who don’t have them. There are a lot of projects around the country that do this, including a couple here in Utah.

5. We can bring like-minded people together through listservs, conferences, etc, so that they can be more effective.

6. We can work with the schools to help them help kids more. I’m working with a start up charter school whose curriculum is going to be designed around writing.

7. We can encourage more reading aloud to students in the elementary classroom. The most effective thing I did as a teacher was read to my 5th and 6th graders a half hour to an hour a day.

8. We can work with schools to help them choose and develop writing curricula that get kids excited about writing, teaches them real writing skills and helps them see themselves as writers.

9. Writers in each state could create short, catchy videos that explore various reading and writing attitudes and skills, as well as introduce kids to their local writers. These could be given to schools to enhance their curricula.

I’ll stop there. I could keep going on and on. There are so many possibilities.

After writing all of this I’m feeling much better about the NBC decision; not that they made the right decision, but that there is so much good that is being done already, and even more important, so many more things we can do. Their decision is just a minor setback.

We are a creative bunch. It would be interesting to hear what ideas others have.

And of course we should remember that the best thing we can do is continue to write books that people want to read.

Rick

18 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

18 responses to “Today, Literacy, Solutions, and More by Rick Walton

  1. Rick, thank you for that. I agree with you. I, too, think that reading has increased since I was a kid. I think that part of that is that there are so many great writers out there. Of course we can’t forget the readers.
    You have some great ideas and my favorite is that you read to your 5th & 6th graders everyday. I had a 5th grade teacher who did that and her reading of “White Fang,” started a love of literature in me that hasn’t subsided.
    I have been happy to see that there are great writing communities online and it’s amazing to my 10-year-old daughter that she can send an email or comment on her favorite writer’s blog. The availability of authors to their readers is, I think, part of what drives this great reading movement.
    For example, where else could I be having this discussion with such an amazing kid’s lit author and his ideas for how we can continue to stimulate this movement.
    Thank you!
    And to all you writers out there. Stay online, stay available. We love to hear about your journeys!

  2. P.S.
    I read “So Many Bunnies,” to my little girls every night. They have it memorized.

  3. Thanks for this positive blog post, Rick Walton.
    I think something schools can do a bit more is let kids choose the books they’d like to read — my experience was most always being told what books to read, and they were often ones I didn’t care for. (I suppose it’s important to require some books for a curriculum, but I would have liked being able to choose a bit more often…)
    I hope the next generation of kids will still like to read–it seems sometimes that there’s so much *stuff* competing for their time nowadays–but luckily there’s also a lot of really popular book series that are holding their interest. I remember when I was younger the huge series was Goosebumps, but now it seems there are lots of really popular series going on.

    • Rick Walton

      Hi Nicholas! Yeah, I agree. If you want kids to learn to love to read, it’s important that they get to choose to read what they love to read.

  4. Rick, thank you for these ideas. As a writer, a reader, and a mother, this is something I think about all the time. What do we do for this new generation of readers?

    I like that you mention out-loud reading. That’s a big one in our family. Even though we have books perched in every corner of our home, I have one son is just isn’t interested in reading. However, he loves to be read to. So we do a lot of books on tape and out-loud chapter book reading. I’ll probably still be reading to him when he’s fifteen, but I’ll do what it takes if it keeps him interested in good stories!

    (BTW, I’m Katherine Gee’s big sister, and she just goes on and on about how amazing you are. So hello from Katherine!)

  5. Martine

    Wow, a post from Rick Walton! That’s a good day.
    Thoughtful and wise and true. Thanks.

  6. Wise words. Thanks, Rick–for this post and for all you’ve done for so many writers over the years.

    And congratulations on your upcoming Outstanding Achievement award from the Whitneys. SO deserved!

  7. Pingback: Disrespecting the Caldecott and Newbery « the kid lit cross-trainer

  8. Lauren

    I love that reading has exploded for both kids & adults; the internet has connected the dots. How wonderful to read what others are reading & sharing with each other, the reviews, and the blogs, in addition; the authors do not feel like some far away person—they pop right up! This connection is interactive and a plus for all book-lovers and book-lovers to be.

  9. SO MANY HEARTS for Rick Walton! ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

  10. Thanks for the positive outlook, Rick. Not only do I see kids reading, but many are writing more than ever. Many of my daughter’s friends have written novels, some have written songs, others are making/designing their own videos. I think a lot of that has been the fact that good books continue to be written and find their way to kids. Authors, like yourself, spend time in schools, making the writing process less of a mystery. And also, so many schools have focused on reading, especially in the younger grades. It can only get better. The seeds are being planted, even if the Today Show doesn’t see that. The kids are so much smarter. And thank heavens, they are in school when the Today Show is on ; )

ThrowingUpComments