Daily Archives: October 17, 2019

Preparing for NaNoWriMo

Hints:

Set aside a time and place that you can get to every single day.

Let those in your life know what you’re after. Ask them to support you in the ways you most need. Is it time you’re after? Someone to help with dinner? A pat on the back? Someone to say, Did you do your words? Find those people. If they’re writing, too, encourage them.

Make this important. It is important to you, isn’t it? Then give yourself this.

Don’t expect perfection. Just write.

Don’t think, I have to write 50,000 words. Don’t think, I’m writing a book in a month. Think, I can write 1667 words in 90 minutes and I’m gonna.

Treat yourself when you accomplish your daily goal.

Have a weekly date where you meet with other writers and just write. Maybe bring food, too? So you just write and eat? Mingle AFTER.

Believe you can do this.

Remember, you have a life and there are more important things than writing novels. My mother died right as NaNoWriMo began last year. I didn’t get more than three days in.

But this year I will write remembering her. She was a writer, too. She would want me to finally win NaNoWriMo!

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized